Magsaysay, Occidental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Magsaysay is a 4th class municipality in the province of Occidental Mindoro, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 28,740 people in 5,713 households.
Magsaysay lies on the southern-most part of the province and is adjacent to the municipality of San Jose on the North; on the East separated by chain of valleys and mountains in the municipality of Bulalacao, Oriental Mindoro; on the South, by Garza Island; and on the West by Iling Island. It is facing the China Sea, with vast plains and valleys. It is characterized by rugged terrain with plain areas. Slope ranges from level to very steep sloping areas. The highest point of elevation is 543 feet above sea level.


Magsaysay was formerly a Hacienda Caguray. It was acquired from hacienda owners Yutivo and Sons by the OLIMA Farmers Association on March 16, 1957 and turned over on November 7.
Magsaysay later became a barrio of San Jose. It became a separate municipality in 1969 and was named after the late Pres. Ramon Magsaysay.


Local Government Officials


Mayor:Eleonor Barrera Fajardo
Vice-Mayor:Ramon Ganda Quilit
• Mario Vidallo Quilit
• Feliciano Sagnip Sagana
• Leodegario Ramos Abesamis
• Andrew Villanueva Garcia
• Lydia Garcia Esguerra
• Antonio Adupina Pacunla
• Ranulfo Basuel Limos
• Benjamin Lerio Arroza




Magsaysay is politically subdivided into 12 barangays.
• Alibog
• Caguray
• Calawag
• Gapasan
• Laste
• Lourdes
• Nicolas (Bulo)
• Paclolo
• Poblacion – Town Proper
• Purnaga
• Santa Teresa
• Sibalat