Paluan, Occidental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Paluan is a 4th class municipality in the province of Occidental Mindoro. In the 2000 census, it has a population of 12,023 people in 2,483 households.

During the early part of the 17th century, Paluan was known as the Religious District of Calavite, before it became a Municipality on January 5, 1901. The town is located at the northern tip of the Province of Occidental Mindoro. It lies along the northeast shore of Paluan Bay approximately 7 miles southeast of Cape Calavite, a major sea-lane for inter-island and ocean-going vessels. The town is straddled by rolling to steep mountain ranges under the majestic shadow of Mount Calavite, a forest reservation for the rare Mindoro Tamaraw. At Mount Calavite point, the best panoramic view of Occidental Mindoro and nearby islands could be seen.




The old village of Paluan mentioned in history was Calavite. The said village could be found near the sea at the north-westernmost part of Occidental Mindoro. Its original name was kalawit, from the shape of the mountain behind the settlement of the people.

Aside from being the center of the Catholic faith, Calavite was mentioned in history due to shipwrecks which oftentimes occurred in its rough seas. Elders of the Iraya tribe still remember a Chinese ship which sank at the sea near Calavite. The place where the waves brought the remnants of the ship is now called Sitio Purao.

The municipal officials of Paluan stated that this town was created on January 5, 1901 by virtue of a resolution passed by the members of the Municipal Council of Mamburao.

Local Government Officials

Mayor: Abelardo Sanchez Pangilinan
Vice-Mayor: Edgar Pagilagan Barrientos
• Lynette Calabio Torreliza
• Demosthenes Ramos Viaña
• Carl Michael Mopera Pangilinan
• Antonio De Lara Tinaliga
• Roel Ventajar Carlos
• Ronaldo Insigne Torreliza
• Williard Fineza Sanchez
• Melvin Terrenal Tagumpay


Paluan is politically subdivided into 12 barangays.
• Alipaoy
• Harrison
• Lumangbayan
• Mananao
• MarikitMunicipal Profile
• Mapalad Pob. (Bgy. 1)
• Handang Tumulong Pob. (Bgy. 2)
• Silahis Ng Pag-Asa Pob. (Bgy. 3)
• Pag-Asa Ng Bayan Pob. (Bgy. 4)
• Bagong Silang Pob. (Bgy. 5)
• San Jose Pob. (Bgy 6)
• Tubili