Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Sablayan is a 1st class municipality of Occidental Mindoro. It has a total land area of 2,188.80 square kilometers, the largest municipality in the Philippines.




The term Sablayan was derived from a Visayan word Sablay which means wave convergence. In the early times, the very location of the town was where the waves from North and South China Sea meet, hence, the name Sablay that later became Sablayan.
The early settlers of Mindoro were the Mangyans. They were believed to be of Malayan origin. They were joined in by natives from neighboring islands–mostly Panayeños led by the TANUNGAN during the second Spanish settlement established by Legaspi. Years later, more arrived who, unlike the first migrants, were already converted Christians; and sometime in 1861 migrants increased in population.
Sablayan then was often subject to raids by Muslim pirates and slave traders so a wooden tower was built–watched round the clock to guard against approaching raiders. This alarm system was augmented in 1896, when four bells of varied sizes–believed to have been manufactured in Spain–arrived from Manila. These bells rang musical chimes.
Upon the arrival of a Spanish priest, a church had to be built. Men, women and children were conscripted to work on it. This church is now in ruins, its bells gone but the biggest cannon standstill atop a small hill near the lighthouse of Parola. The church was abandoned when the town proper was moved to Buenavista.
In 1901, the first American arrived in Sablayan. Due to the outbreak of Fil-American war, Americans burned the town in 1903. It took years before Sablayan was rebuilt.
Sablayan was already a pueblo (town) under the Spaniards when the Americans came. However, when the American Government took over it was converted into a full pledge municipality on January 04, 1906 by virtue of Act No. 1820 of the Philippine Commission.


Local Government Officials


Mayor: Eduardo Baltazar Gadiano
Vice-Mayor: Andres Dawates Dangeros
Nancy Laudencia Landicho
Edwin Nicanor Mintu
Manuel Pasion Tadeo
Conchita Hilario Dimaculangan
Roberto Cruz Lim
Amable Bundang Urieta
Celso Sarzate Salgado
Roberto Gonzalvo Dimayacyac




Sablayan is politically subdivided into 22 barangays. In 1957 the following barrios were renamed: Batasan to Claudio Salgado, Hinaya to Buhay na Bato (Batong Buhay) and Iriron to San Isidro.

Batong Buhay
Claudio Salgado
General Emilio Aguinaldo
Poblacion (Lumangbayan)
San Agustin
San Francisco
San Nicolas
San Vicente
Santa Lucia
Santo Niño