Bongabong, Oriental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Bongabong is a 1st class municipality. Regarding urbanization Bongabong is classified as partly urban. Bongabong occupies an area of 498.20 km². By the end of 2007 Bongabong was the home of 61,127 residents. Thus by average 122.70 people are living on one km².


The municipality Bongabong is seated about 75 km south-south-east of province capital City Of Calapan and about 212 km south of Philippine main capital Manila.


Brief History 

Bongabong was established in the 16th century as Binagao, a Mangyan word meaning “big and dangerous river.” The Spaniards erected a fort and church at Sucol (now Brgy. Anilao), a area near the Bongabong River. It was first administered by Jesuits from Naujan and later by the Recollects from Mangarin. The town was moved to Sitio Mararog and later to its present site. After the revolution, it was renamed Sumilang (“born”) by Juan Naguit. It got its present name during the American era. It is said that an American soldier shot the fruit of a beetlenut locally called bunga. The bunga and the sound of the gun (bong) were combined into one word and came to be associated with the place. In 1901, many residents were garrisoned at the kuta as the town was burned by American soldiers after an uprising led by Antonio Jalos. After civil government was organized in 1902, the town was downgraded to a barrio of Pinamalayan. It became a separate municipality again on November 7, 1927 by virtue of Philippine Legislative Act No. 3415. On January 1, 1941, it was the first town liberated by American forces in Eastern Mindoro.


Local Officials 

Mayor: Hercules Almarez Umali
Vice Mayor: Alfonso Anthony Montalbo
Jeremy Isler Enriquez
Robert Hernandez Sosa
Evelyn Brucal Alea
Marieta Artiza Selda
Richard Seño Candelario
Owen Caballero Liwanag
Rogelio Cabrera Maulion
Dolores Uy De Gala


Bansud is politically subdivided into 36 barangays.
  • Anilao
  • Aplaya
  • Bagong Bayan I
  • Bagong Bayan II
  • Batangan
  • Bukal
  • Camantigue
  • Carmundo
  • Cawayan
  • Dayhagan
  • Formon
  • Hagan
  • Hagupit
  • Ipil
  • Kaligtasan
  • Labasan
  • Labonan
  • Libertad
  • Lisap
  • Luna
  • Malitbog
  • Mapang
  • Masaguisi
  • Mina de Oro
  • Morente
  • Ogbot
  • Orconuma
  • Poblacion
  • Polusahi
  • Sagana
  • San Isidro
  • San Jose
  • San Juan
  • Santa Cruz
  • Sigange
  • Tawas