San Teodoro, Oriental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

San teodoro is a 4th class municipality. Regarding urbanization San Teodoro is classified as partly urban. San Teodoro occupies an area of 341.00 km². By the end of 2007 San Teodoro was the home of 15,039 residents. Thus by average 44.10 people are living on one km².


San Teodoro lies on the coastal plain of Subaan Bay and has the largest gold reservoir in the province. The town is traversed by the Alag River, Binaybay River and the Subaan River.


Brief History

This town was first known as Subaan (after the Subaan River that traverses it) and was under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Baco during the Spanish era.

On February 1902, American forces under Theodore Hutchins and Sgt. Teodoro Viray attacked the town forcing the people to flee to the nearby hills. Upon their return, the people established the town at a new site and renamed it after the three Teodoros: Theodore Hutchins, Teodoro Viray and U.S. Pres. Theodore Roosevelt. San Teodoro was then a barrio of Puerto Galera. It was later transferred to Calapan from 1902 to 1919.

On February 16, 1929, San Teodoro was made a separate municipality by virtue of Act No. 3498.


Local Officials

Mayor: Apollo Evangelista Feraren
Vice Mayor: Aquilino Suerte Arguelles
Lourdes Garejo Alisna
Francisco Abena Marinduque
Allan Atienza Arguelles
Arlene Villanueva Aldaba
Willie Bae Felix
Anna Shiela Enriquez Garachico
Jorge Manalo Del Rosario
Cynthia Añonuevo Abutan


San Teodoro is politically subdivided into 8 barangays.
  • Bigaan
  • Calangatan
  • Calsapa
  • Ilag
  • Lumangbayan
  • Tacligan
  • Poblacion
  • Caagutayan