Rizal, Occidental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Rizal is a 4th class municipality in the province of Occidental Mindoro, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 29,785 people in 5,678 households.




Before the coming of the Spaniards to the Philippines, the area which comprises the municipality of Rizal, at present, is covered with forests. Later on, a few families of tribal Filipinos, known as Ratagnons, settled near the mouth of a river which was called Bogsanga.
According to the Hanunoos, another group of tribal Filipinos, living on the hills, about ten kilometers west of Bogsanga, the original name of the river is Bisanga a word from their dialect which means It branched out. They gave the river that name for the said body of water came from two sources.
Political leaders of San Jose and Occidental Mindoro felt that the barrios between Busuanga and Lumintao River should be created as another municipality. In anticipation of the creation of a new town, residents of Barrio Limlim, decided to change the name of their community to Rizal. They expressed their desire that their barrio would be made as the center of the town.
When Hon. Pedro Medalla, Sr. was elected in 1965 as representative of Occidental MIndoro, one of the bills he filed in Congress was the creation of the municipality of Rizal. Through his effort, Republic Act No. 5460, was passed by Congress and signed into law by President Ferdinand Marcos. Rizal became a municipality on April 3, 1969. Ten barrios composed the new town. They were Adela, Rumbang, Salvacion, Magui, Magsikap, San Pedro, Sto. Nino, Pitogo, Aguas and Rizal (Limlim).


Local Government Officials:


Mayor: Jesus Acosta Valdez Sr.
Vice-Mayor: Ferdinand Hermoso Arca
Ronar Antolin Hitones
Erson Cabaluna Pablo
Jimmy Maloles Jaurigue
Edgardo Colesio Tamboong
Sherwin Fedellaga Ibañez
Lawrence Rabago Dona
Amador Famenia Felipe
Restituto Feliciano Awit




Rizal is politically subdivided into 11 barangays.
• Adela
• Aguas
• Magsikap
• Malawaan
• Pitogo
• Rizal
• Rumbang
• Salvacion
• San Pedro
• Sto. Niño
• Manoot



Speak Your Mind