Baco, Oriental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Baco is a 4th class municipality in the province of Oriental Mindoro, Philippines. It is one of the oldest towns in the province. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 30,167 people in 5,717 households.


Baco is located on the northern part of Oriental Mindoro. It is bounded to the north by the Verde Island Passage, to the east by Calapan City and Naujan to the south by Santa Cruzand Sablayan in Occidental Mindoro province, and to the west by San Teodoro.


Brief History

Baco was formerly called Voco, Bato and Bacoy. It was the official capital from 1575 to 1679. The original settlement was in the coastal barrio of Tabon-Tabon but was later transferred, due to Moro raids, to Libtong (now Lumangbayan).  In 1898, the people under the leadership of Capt. Cervullo Leuterio rose against the Spaniards and later, against the Americans. In 1902, Baco, together with San Teodoro, were incorporated to Calapan by virtue of Act No. 1824. Baco became
a separate municipality in 1920 by virtue of Act No. 3498.


Local Officials

Mayor: Graciano Politico Dela Chica
Vice Mayor: Dionisio Dalisay Hernandez
Pastor Ramirez Ical
Brederick Victorio Castillo
Iglecerio Montalbo Blanco
Aries Zara Aguilar
Jerry Silang Villaruel
Clemen Aceveda  Bautista
Laurenzo Mendoza Roldan
Ruben Yongkul Garcia


Baco is politically subdivided into 27 barangays.
  • Alag
  • Bangkatan
  • Burbuli
  • Catwiran I
  • Catwiran II
  • Dulangan I
  • Dulangan II
  • Lumang Bayan
  • Malapad
  • Mangangan I
  • Mangangan II
  • Mayabig
  • Pambisan
  • Pulang-Tubig
  • Putican-Cabulo
  • San Andres
  • San Ignacio (Dulangan)
  • Santa Cruz
  • Santa Rosa I
  • Santa Rosa II
  • Tabon-tabon
  • Tagumpay
  • Water
  • Baras (Mangyan Minority)
  • Bayanan
  • Lantuyang (Mangyan Minority)
  • Poblacion


Speak Your Mind