Pola, Oriental Mindoro (History, Local Gov’t Officials, Barangays)

Pola is a 3rd class municipality. Regarding urbanization Pola is classified as partly urban. Pola occupies an area of 159.34 km². By the end of 2007 Pola was the home of 32,635 residents. Thus by average 204.81 people are living on one km².


This quaint little town sits on a hilly area adjoining the waters of Pola Bay that curves from Anahaw to Dayap Points.


Brief History

Pola’s name was derived from the Tagalog word for “red,” the color its soil. During the 17th century, Spanish Recollect friars supervised the town. Pola Bay was convenient stopover and launch area of Moro pirates during their raids of Calapan and Naujan. In 1898, agitation against Spanish rule was more manifested here due to the instigation of Esteban de Jesus, a Taaleño from Batangas. In 1901, upon the arrival of the Americans, local government was established. On April 28, 1904, by virtue of Act No. 1135, it reverted back to a barrio and was consolidated with Bongabong and Pinamalayan. In 1910, by virtue of Exec. Order 31, it reverted back to a separate municipality and was proclaimed as such on January 1, 1912. In 1962, Socorro was carved out of the town.


Local Officials

Mayor: Leandro Pasco Panganiban Jr.
Vice Mayor: Raul Aldea Pagcaliwagan
Marvin Torres Rivera
Ancieto Jaqueca Villanueva
Efren Cabanig Montalbo
Rosie Lusterio Rivas
Ernesto Del Mundo Dajoyag
Archielito Ramos Dumaran
John Francisco Genabe
Leo Paul Lascano Fetizanan


Pola is politically subdivided into 23 barangays.
  • Bacawan
  • Bacungan
  • Batuhan
  • Bayanan
  • Biga
  • Buhay Na Tubig
  • Calubasanhon
  • Calima
  • Casiligan
  • Malibago
  • Maluanluan
  • Matulatula
  • Pahilahan
  • Panikihan
  • Zone I (Pob.)
  • Zone II (Pob.)
  • Pula
  • Puting Cacao
  • Tagbakin
  • Tagumpay
  • Tiguihan
  • Campamento
  • Misong
  • Regaps
  • Labuts


Speak Your Mind